The latest Liverpool news after their 1-0 win over Leicester City, as Trent Alexander-Arnold scored the game’s only goal in somewhat controversial circumstancesTrent Alexander-Arnold celebrates scoring for Liverpool as Leicester ity players appeal in the backgroundLeicester City players appealed as Trent Alexander-Arnold celebrated scoring for Liverpool(Image: Liverpool FC via Getty Images)

The former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher is adamant that referee Stuart Attwell was right not to disallow Trent Alexander-Arnold‘s goal against Leicester City. As the Reds vice-captain wheeled away to celebrate, several opposition players complained to the official after defending with only ten men.

During the build-up, Leicester player Luke Thomas collided with his goalkeeper, Mads Hermansen, and both went down. However, as the ‘keeper bounced back up, the defender did not, remaining prone inside the six-yard box.

Wout Faes immediately walked over to Attwell with arms outstretched. He was motioning towards Thomas after failing to block the shot.

READ MORE: Gary Neville tells Trent Alexander-Arnold what must happen next week – ‘It becomes distasteful’READ MORE: Richard Keys involved in on air argument with former Liverpool man over Premier League title

Gallagher acknowledged that it was a difficult decision but believed it was the right call to make. “A tough call for the referee here if he thinks head injury,” the former referee said during Ref Watch on Sky Sports News.

“If you look, firstly, it’s his own goalkeeper who goes into him, and the ball isn’t recycled very quickly, and the referee will be watching all this. He had no idea that could have been a head injury; we still don’t know if it was.

“You realise the alternative to this is if the referee stops the game when Liverpool have a shot on goal, they have to restart with a drop ball with the goalkeeper, so I think all-in-all, the referee has no choice. Unless he’s convinced it’s a head injury, he has to play on.”

Gallagher also agreed that Attwell was right to disallow a goal from Liverpool academy graduate Conor Coady for a foul by striker Patson Daka on Alisson.

“I think this is a foul,” he said earlier during Ref Watch. “We’ve spoken in length about fouls on goalkeepers. Daka doesn’t hold his ground as holding his ground is standing still. Daka moves into the goalkeeper.”

Join our WhatsApp community, sign up to a newsletter or listen to our podcasts HERE