There was a really surprising rule given to one of the players right in the mix at the John Deere Classic on day three.
TPC Deere Run has played significantly harder this year than it has done in seasons gone by for the John Deere Classic, mostly because of high winds and firmer greens.
There have been some exciting narratives developing throughout the week, with Max Homa’s return to form at the John Deere Classic a particularly heartwarming storyline.
We usually see plenty of birdies and not many bogeys during the John Deere, but there have been numerous players struggling out on the golf course this week.
Somewhat surprisingly, only 15-under par leads after day three. This is a tournament where a score worse than 20-under par has won on only three occasions since 2008.
The leaders didn’t really pull away on Saturday, and the tournament is wide open heading into the final round on Sunday.
Laura Davies doesn’t agree with ruling at the John Deere
Dame Laura Davies has been on commentary duty for the John Deere Classic this week.
She has seen pretty much all there is to see in the game throughout the years, but something happened at TPC Deere Run on Saturday that genuinely shocked her.
Photo by David Berding/Getty Images
Kevin Roy, who was leading on 14-under par after 10 holes of the third round found the bunker with his second shot on the 11th hole.
He left his first shot in the bunker, and his ball stopped just in front of the footprints he made by taking his stance for his third shot.
However, Roy then waited while his playing partners putted out in order to ask for a ruling.
When speaking on Sky Sports in the UK, Davies admitted that she was baffled by the fact that Roy was calling an official over to get a ruling in the bunker.
Davies said: “I mean, unless this rule has changed, there is no way you can rake your own footprints. Unless the rules have changed recently, it’s possible, they do change them every so often.“
Then Davies shared her shock when Roy was actually permitted to rake the raised mound of sand behind his ball.
She said: “Well, I did not see that one coming. Rule change, I missed that one on the memo. I don’t agree with it. I think that’s a daft rule. The game is not supposed to be as fair as that, if you make a mistake, you have to be punished.“
Unfortunately for Roy, his day went downhill from there, and he slipped back into a tie for 10th at 11-under par.
PGA Tour rules official explains Kevin Roy ruling at the John Deere Classic
Orlando Pope – a highly experienced PGA Tour rules official – responded when asked to elaborate on the ruling given to Roy at TPC Deere Run.
He said: “Well, since he played his ball from the bunker, he has already tested the area, so it’s not in his line of play. He can rake that, that’s what he was asking.“
The thing is, Roy would not have been given any kind of relief, had his third shot rolled back into his footprints.
The fact that Roy’s ball stopped just short of his footprints was a hugely fortunate break for him.
Either way, it’s still a strange ruling, given the fact that bunkers are supposed to be hazards!